INTERFERENCE — RULE 8 — STROKE, LET OR NO LET?

CONSIDERATION DECISION RULE
Did interference occur? NO = NO LET 8.7.1
YES W
Was the interference minimal? YES = NO LET 8.6.4
NO W

Could the obstructed player have got to the
ball and made a good return and was that

player making every effort to do so? NO = NO LET 8.6.2
YES W

Did the obstructed player move past the

point of interference and play on? YES = NO LET 8.6.3
NO W

Did the obstructed player create the

interference in moving to the ball? YES = NO LET 8.8.2
NO W

Did the opponent make every effort to

avoid interference? NO = STROKE to player 8.6.5
YES W

Did the interference prevent the player’s

reasonable swing? YES = STROKE to player 8.9.2
NO W

Could the obstructed player have made

a winning return? YES =2 STROKE to player 8.6.7
NO W

Would the obstructed player have struck the
opponent with the ball going directly to the
front wall or if going to a sidewall would it

have been a winning return? YES = STROKE to player 8.11.1
8.11.3
NO = YES LET 8.6.6

The above is a useful guide to the Interference Rule in Squash but you also need to read the rule in full.



